Louisiana Veterans Benefits & Disabled Veterans Benefits
The following are the Louisiana veterans’ benefits programs for education, housing, nursing home care, and financial benefits. You can also learn about veterans’ benefits in other states.
Veteran Education Benefits in Louisiana
In addition to federal programs such as the GI Bill, there are veterans’ education benefits programs provided by the state of Louisiana.
In-State Tuition For Louisiana Veterans And Active Duty Military
Louisiana veterans and currently serving service members in the state may qualify for in-state tuition at any state-supported public college or university. Eligibility requirements apply and you will need to inquire with the school of your choice on how to claim your in-state status.
Related: Scholarships for Military Spouses
Louisiana Title 29 Dependents Educational Assistance
Louisiana offers education assistance to surviving spouses of veterans who died in wartime, and to the children of disabled veterans with VA disability ratings of 90% or higher.
The Louisiana Department of Veterans Affairs and local colleges alike have minimal information about this benefit, stating that the applicant is exempt from paying tuition or school-imposed fees.
There is no mention of a cap on the benefit, or whether the benefit can be used for a single degree or multiple programs.
According to multiple sources, when you apply and are approved for the program, “Eligible students will receive a Fee Exemption Certificate from the Louisiana Department of Veteran Affairs.” You must submit the original certificate to the school to get the tuition exception.
Contact the Louisiana college or university of your choice to determine what educational help might be available to you under this program.
- A deceased veteran must have been a resident of the State of Louisiana for at least 12 months before joining the military.
- A living veteran must have lived in the state for at least 24 months prior to a dependent being approved for the program.
- A surviving spouse must use the benefit within 10 years.
- Dependents must be between sixteen and twenty-five to qualify.
Louisiana National Guard Tuition
Members may be eligible for a State Tuition Exemption Program if they meet the following requirements:
- Must be a drilling member of the Louisiana National Guard
- Must be living in the state
- Must be degree-seeking and maintain academic progress
- Must pay all fees aside from tuition.
This program waives all tuition but requires student payment of other fees including books and lab charges.
Find colleges in Louisiana with our School Finder. Use the filters to sort schools by state.
Tax Benefits for Veterans in Louisiana
Louisiana veterans may claim a variety of tax benefits. Those stationed out of state for 120 days or more may qualify for a state tax exemption up to $30 thousand (2022 rates, successive years may vary) on military earnings.
Military pay exempt from federal taxes may also be exempt from Louisiana state taxes. This is true of combat pay, hazardous duty pay, etc.
Military disability pay is generally not taxable under Louisiana state law at press time. Louisiana income tax is not charged on the following disability benefits:
- Disability compensation
- Pension payments for disabilities
- Accessibility grants
- Accessibility grants for motor vehicles
- Benefits under a dependent-care program
Homestead Tax Exemptions for Louisiana Disabled Veterans and Surviving Spouses
The state of Louisiana offers a homestead exemption to qualifying homeowners worth up to $7,500 (in 2022, successive years may vary). This is NOT the veteran homestead exemption. It is generically offered to those with property “owned and occupied by any person”.
Above and beyond this extension, qualifying veterans and surviving spouses may be eligible to claim an additional exemption for the same amount listed above (in 2022). This effectively lowers the overall assessed value of the home for property tax purposes.
- The home must be owned and occupied by a Veteran with a service-connected disability rating of 100%.
- The unremarried Surviving Spouse of an eligible deceased disabled Veteran is also eligible for this exemption. This is true IF the Surviving Spouse remains the owner/occupier.
- If the Surviving Spouse relocates, they may still receive consideration for the exemption
- If the property is valued at more than $15,000 the owner is responsible for property taxes on any assessed amount over $15,000.
Louisiana State Nursing Homes For Veterans
The Louisiana Department of Veterans Affairs operates Veterans Homes in the following locations:
- Bossier City
Services may vary depending on the facility but typical options include:
- Long-term care
- short-term care
- Rehabilitative therapy
- Alzheimer’s and intermediate care
- Skilled nursing care
- Mental health services
Veterans must typically be state residents to apply. This applies unless they are referred by an in-state VA medical center or by the state Department of Veterans Affairs.
Vets must have served more than 90 days in most cases but those with fewer than 90 days of service must have been medically discharged and have an Honorable discharge. A condition of admission is pre-screening for communicable diseases or conditions the facility is unable to provide care for.
LA National Guard Death and Disability Benefit
Louisiana National Guard members suffering a permanent or total disability while on federal or state active duty on or after September 11, 2001, and the surviving spouse or dependents of someone killed in action may qualify for death and disability benefits from the State of Louisiana. In the past, this benefit has paid a $250,000 death benefit or a $100,000 disability benefit. Apply for this benefit with the Louisiana Department of Veterans Affairs.
Veteran Employment and Veteran Business Benefits in Louisiana
Louisiana State and Federal Civil Service Hiring Preference
Qualifying veterans and spouses may be eligible for hiring preference from the State of Louisiana in the form of preference points added to the scores of competitive job exams.
To qualify, you must be an honorably discharged veteran or the spouse of an honorably discharged veteran who:
- Served in combat, in any campaign for which a campaign medal was awarded OR;
- Served at least 90 days of active duty after September 11, 2001, OR;
- Served on active duty and has one or more service-connected disabilities.
Five or ten preference points may be added depending on circumstances. These points are awarded for “original appointment” only, they may not be used for promotions.
Other Louisiana State Veterans’ Benefits
Military Family Assistance (MFA) Fund
The Military Family Assistance Fund (MFA) offers financial support to Louisiana veterans and their families in times of financial need. Assistance up to $10,000 (for a single claim) is available in a 12-month period. Minimum time in service requirements apply and an Honorable discharge is required.
To qualify one of the following must apply. You must be a current resident of the state AND:
- Veterans must have 24 months of continuous active-duty service.
- Must have 90 days of active duty and a medically-related discharge or the veteran has a “compensable service-connected disability”.
- The veteran received a discharge with less than 90 days of service for a service-connected disability.
For more information regarding Louisiana veterans’ benefits, please visit the Louisiana Department of Veterans Affairs
Related state military and veteran information: